Over 450 Guests Packed the Sold out East Los Angeles College 2017 President’s Education & Art Gala

Los Angeles (CA)- On May 13, 2017, the East Los Angeles College (ELAC) Foundation held its Annual Dinner celebrating the 60th Anniversary of the ELAC’s Vincent Price Art Museum at the JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE. In addition to celebrating the success of our students, awards were presented to several remarkable recipients for their significant Leaders to ELAC and our community. This year honorees were: California’s Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León with President’s Leadership Award, Founder & President/CEO of Pacifica Services, Inc. Ernest Camacho with President’s Alumni of the Year Award, Deborah Marrow Director of Getty Foundation with President’s Non-Profit Leadership Award and artist John Valadez with Vincent and Mary Price Legacy Award.

The event attendees included: Congresswoman, Lucille Roybal Allard, CA State Senate pro Tem, Kevin de León, CA State Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon, CA State Senator Ed Hernandez, Los Angeles County Supervisor Hilda Solis, Los Angeles College Board of Trustees President, Scott Svonkin, Los Angeles College Board of Trustees First Vice President, Sydney Kamlager, Los Angeles College Board of Trustees Second Vice President, Mike Eng, Los Angeles College Board of Trustees Member, Trustee Mike Fong, Los Angeles College Board of Trustees Member, Trustee Ernest H. Moreno,Los Angeles College Board of Trustees Member, Trustee Andra Hoffman, Mayor of City of Monterey, Park Teresa Real Sebastian, Los Angeles City Councilmember, Jose Huizar, Mayor of City of Montebello & President, Independent Cities Association, Vivian Romero, City of Montebello Council member, Jack Hadjinian, City of South Gate Councilmember, Al Rios, City of San Gabriel Councilmember, Chin Ho Liao, Consul General of Pakistan at Los Angeles, Abdul Jabbar Memon, Saugus Union School District Board of Education Member, Paul De La Cerda, Montebello Unified School District Board of Education Member Joanna Flores, Garvey School District Board of Education Member & Representing CA State Assembly member Ed Chau, Henry Lo, Burbank Unified School District Board of Education Member, Dr. Armond Aghakhanian, Former Los Angeles County Supervisor Michael Antonovich, Los Angeles College District Chancellor, Dr. Francisco Rodriguez, CA State Senator Ricardo Lara’s District Director, Julia Juarez and Actor/Director/Comedian Cheech Marin.

This year we were truly honored to have such a prestigious Honorary Gala Committee Chairs. The list included: John Chiang, CA State Treasurer, Judy Chu, U.S. Congresswoman, Lucille Roybal-Allard, U.S. Congresswoman, Nanette Diaz Barragán, U.S. Congresswoman, Ricardo Lara, CA State Senator, Anthony Rendon, CA State Assembly Speaker, Ian Calderon, CA State Assembly Majority Leader, Ed Chau, CA State Assembly Member, Hilda Solis, LA County Supervisor, Teresa Real Sebastian J.D., Mayor, City of Monterey Park, Eric Garcetti, Mayor, City of Los Angeles, Vivian Romero, Mayor, City of Montebello, and Cheech Marin, Actor/Director/Comedian.

This year more than ever ELAC Foundation and its Board of Directors are committing their time and resources because we firmly believe in our vision: “Transforming Lives Through Education & Art.” Every dollar, every donor transforms the lives of our students and faculty. May you help us transform a life today! To donate please visits: https://elacfoundation.com/make-a-donation